Dinosaur and Chicken Bones

I had a weird dream last night. It was about a boy named Ronald. Ronald was my classmate at Saint Patrick’s primary school. I don’t really remember what the dream was about, but I can recall vividly an incident that took place when we were nine years old.

One day, Ronald brought an interestingly fossil-like piece of bone to school. It was brown and looked suitably old.

He told me that he picked it up from a secret location teeming with fantastic creatures – dinosaurs and other prehistoric animals. His family go there regularly for holidays. Imagine that! Holidaying with all those carnivorous fauna roaming around freely. Doesn’t that sound just a tad dangerous? Not to mention impossible? The dinosaurs died out 65 million years ago.

Ronald told me that if I paid him 30 bucks, he would bring one fossilised bone back for me. I was elated. Needless to say, I paid him. With all my savings. Broke my china piggy bank.

At night, I dreamt about the dinosaurs and the bones. Bones, bones and more bones.

I waited patiently.

One week went by. Then two. Then a month. Ronald kept putting it off. Telling me all kinds of excuses.

Before I knew it, half a year had come and gone. Unable to stand the constant longing, I demanded Ronald deliver the promised bone. He told me that the dinosaurs were not there anymore.

No dinosaurs, no bones.

I was heartbroken. Twenty years later, I can still hear the shattering sound my dreams made as it was hurled onto the jagged rocks below.

On hindsight, I realised the bones were chicken bones. I have been taken for a ride. I was naïve and I believed everything my friend told me. It did not occur to me that he was lying his pants off.

What wouldn’t I give to have that childlike innocence and naiveté back. Cynicism and scepticism is part and parcel of growing up. Anything said or promised is treated with suspicion. It’s like we have lost the ability to believe things based on their own merit.

Maybe this situation was enforced through conditioning. Our dreams were constantly shattered. Promises made to us were broken time and time again. In the end, to preserve our fragile selves, we adopt this distrustful view of the outside world. This way, we will never be lied to or hurt again.

I don’t want to be a sceptic. I really don’t want to be a cynic.

But, this seems impossible. The world today is a dangerous and untrustworthy place.

I made this during lunch today.

dsc01281.JPG

Looks like dumpling, eh? It’s actually made with two lumps of wet, soggy tissue dipped in sauce.

Things are not what they seem.

Maybe there’s still hope for us all. Just as long as we just believe. Believe in ourselves and that there is good in every person around us.

Just believe.

Oh and on a side note, I don’t know what has happened to Ronald. If you see him, tell him I want my 30 bucks back.

3 Responses

  1. No joke…Ronald actually did that? Hah! I thought I was the one who also schemed to get u guys to fork out via my coloured papers and Poh Zai Yin stuff…..BTW, wouldn’t u want ur money back with interest? I’ll split with u, i take 70 and u, 30? I’ll hunt him down. Deal? 🙂

    anttyk: Ha ha ha. Wah your cut so much one ah… All I am left is the principal amount. How can like that? I remember your coloured paper and PZY schemes. I am proud to say that I did not fall for it. Don’t like coloured papers. I can’t remember who your victim was, though.

  2. He he…I think Lenny (Ong) was my biggest contributor in my early days of business. You might not have fallen for the papers but I think you bought a friendship bracelet from me…I can’t remember what was written but if I’m not mistaken, it was for your sister. Did you know I had a big commission from those bracelets? My poor sis was the slave who twisted and tied them up. All I did was lip service, marketing her work…and a huge share….hehehehe…

    anttyk: Oh ya hor. I totally forgot about the friendship bracelet thingy. Hmm… I can’t imagine Mr Lenny ‘Cleo’s 50 Most Eligible Bachelors’ Ong falling for your scams. Ha ha ha.

  3. i like this post.. not for the wanton though..

    anttyk: 🙂

Leave a Reply

