Yu Yu Ice and Mamee Snacks

Becky dropped her handbag at the KLCC carpark last Sunday afternoon. She couldn’t reach the ticket machine at the exit, so she opened her car door. Unfortunately, she did not realise that her handbag dropped out from the door’s side pocket as she was doing this.

Sigh. The contents included:

  • Seekarlui’s Burberry Blue Label handbag.
  • Becky’s Louis Vuitton wallet, driving license, identity card and RM500 cash.
  • My O2 PDA phone.

We reported the loss at the KLCC Security Office, the KLCC Car Park Management Office and the Police Station.

We are not very optimistic. I guess Malaysian’s are not an honest people. If you found a handbag packed with branded stuff, what would you do?

As I was about to start ranting about how my fellow countrymen lack moral fibre and basic decency, I was hit with this realisation.

Maybe we are too attached to our material possessions. We get so caught up in grabbing and hoarding that we lose touch with what really matters most. Our obsession blinds us to the fact that our belongings are temporary and fleeting.

Life was so much simpler when we were kids. I did not covet expensive cars, PDA phones, designer leather goods, electronic toys.

As a kid, I never had much pocket money. On school days, my mum packs food for my sister and I. Money comes our way on occasions when pigs start flapping their wings, their silhouettes displayed clearly against the bright yellow moon.

I remember one of my favourite things in the world was Yu Yu Ice. 50 sen for a cup of syrup and ice slush. Every Friday afternoon, after saving and scrimping the whole week, I would buy one cup of watermelon Yu Yu Ice. I would eat it slowly, really savour it.

My precious.”

I loved the 40 sen Mamee snack too. I also loved collecting the stickers which come wrapped in blue plastic jackets. Most intriguingly (for me at the time), there are prizes for completed sticker sets from the school canteen uncle. Somehow, I could never seem to complete the set though. Sigh. Children are a gullible bunch.

As I reminisce, I realised that as a kid, things were a whole lot simpler. It did not take much to make me happy. I did not need many possessions to make me feel fulfilled or complete.

All I needed was my sister’s company and our old beat up ‘Mopper’ bike. We’d go everywhere with our pet mouse, Big Steve. We’d roam our neighbourhood, build huts from old boxes, hold picnics, just enjoy each other’s company and doing nothing on a lazy Saturday afternoon.

As we grow up, somehow, something strange seems to develop – a void appears in our lives, and it seems that nothing material can ever satisfy us. Even when we have it all, we still crave for more material possessions. It’s akin to trying to fill a leaky vessel, impossible and futile.

I am not saying that we should all live like Trappist monks.

I guess what I am trying to say is that we should live our lives with a balanced perspective. We have to be conscious of what is important, and what isn’t. Our loved ones, our families, friends, health, football (heh). These are the most important ‘possessions’ we have. This is where most of our energies should be spent, pursuing and nurturing these areas of our lives.

Cheers.

2 Responses

  1. luckily on dropped off handbag, buy again lo since BONUS is coming. i share ur sadness since i suppose to offer u RM2.8K for O2 XDA..kaka

    anttyk: Buy me a pint, can?

  2. during your old..i mean..your days.. 50 sen yu yu ice and 40 sen mamee snack were expensive la.. 😛

    anttyk: Pik! Piak! Pik! Piak! Pik! Piak! 😦

Leave a Reply

