Ciggies Save Lives

Chosim was telling us a story yesterday during one of our regular mamak sessions. He sat on his chair, old-Chinese-storytelling-uncle-style.

chosimcig.JPG

Chosim: Last weekend, I was deep frying keropoks.

C. Lengus: Wah, you can cook?

Chosim: Of course lah. Don’t interrupt me… I was deep frying keropoks my Ah Ling’s mum brought back from the East Coast.

Me: What kind of keropok?

Chosim: You know, the long thick cigar type. I think it’s made of fish meat.

Me: Ah… The fishy type.

Chosim: Anyway, I was standing there looking at the thing wondering how long I should let it fry, when suddenly, the keropok EXPLOSIONS!

Awed silence.

Chosim: I mean, it just exploded. There was cooking oil everywhere. Scared the shit out of me.

C. Lengus: Wahh… Got kena you or not?

Me: Yah. How big was the patch of oil?

Chosim: The whole stove was covered with it. Luckily…

C. Lengus and me: What? What???

Chosim: I was standing quite far from the stove at the time. Smoking my ciggie. I tell you, smoking that ciggie saved my life man.

C. Lengus and me: -_-   -_-

 

– – – –

Read about Chosim’s ball biscuit story here.
Plus, read about C. Lengus’ chatou story here.

10 Responses

  1. clearly, that explosion was not caused by the ciggie, rite? 😛

    anttyk: Nope. Chosim stored the keropok lekor in the freezer. Took it out and fried it. The trapped water inside the keropok caused the ‘explosion’.

  2. .. and they tell us that ciggarette is harmful for u. :p

    anttyk: Haha. Phillip Morris should pay me for the positive advertisement.

  3. Chosim…. Kau Bodoh… Bahlul!!

    anttyk: Sigh… *shakes head*

  4. Smokers don’t live longer. It just feels longer.

    Yellow flowers are sweet. So are yew.

    anttyk: Awww… Lils. Shucks. *blush*

  5. HAHAHHAHAHAHA… i should start smoking to cook safely in kitchen..

    anttyk: Remind me not to eat at home then. :p

  6. it’s like if there’s an explosion at a petrol kiosk, the smoker will be far away and safe 😉

    anttyk: Heh heh… 🙂

  7. oh.. and ALIVE. that is if he/she isn’t the one who started the explosion.

    anttyk: You appear to be very knowledgeable with regards to this subject matter… :p

  8. you supposed to slightly cut(tengah2) the keropok so that it wont meletup lorrr

    anttyk: Oh… I’ll let Chosim know. Thanks!

  9. knowledgeable? what do you mean? i like to observe 😉

    anttyk: Me too. Observe, make notes, then go home and blog about it. Heh heh.

  10. […] in an incident a year ago where he nearly died deep frying keropok lekor in his kitchen. Click here to read that […]

Leave a Reply

