Worries

These couple of days have been torture for me. I’m having trouble sleeping. There are so many thoughts running through my head I feel like I am going a little nuts. All I can do is try to ignore them and cover my head with my pillow, shutting out the world.

I worry.

I worry about the house. I worry about furnishing the house. Most of all, I worry about the money. Where I’m going to get it and how. How can I get more cash? How will I be able to settle the mounting credit card debts and the ridiculous interest rates that come with them?

Sadly at the moment, the only rooms I can afford to furnish is the living room, dining room and master bedroom. Every other room in the house will be empty and bare. Overnight guests will have to sleep on the cold hard floor, next to the little red spiders that have shown up recently.

Sometimes I just wonder if this is how life is. You slave for many years, scrimp, save up, give the best years of your life to the firm. And at the end of the day what do you get? A modest terrace house that you can’t even furnish properly.

There is something inherently wrong with this picture.

All I am asking for is very simple. That I be paid enough so that I can at least have a proper place to call home.

Is this too unreasonable a request?

14 Responses

  1. Didn’t make a strong case during the promotion?

  2. Dude,

    When my cousin and I moved into the new place, I was in a hurry to everything up…but my cousin, who was paying for most, said it’s realistically not possibly to do so, so he spent bit by bit, furnished room by room and now after 6 months after we’ve moved in, it looks like a decent home…

    it takes time, but patience and care can only produce wonders. think of it as an opportunity to go about scouting and find what really pleases you.

    Don’t worry people in the same predicament will understand, be true to yourself, all esle will follow.

  3. Dude,

    When my cousin and I moved into the new place, I was in a hurry to everything up…but my cousin, who was paying for most, said it’s realistically not possibly to do so, so he spent bit by bit, furnished room by room and now after 6 months after we’ve moved in, it looks like a decent home…

    it takes time, but patience and care can only produce wonders. think of it as an opportunity to go about scouting and find what really pleases you.

    Don’t worry about accomodating others, people in the same predicament will understand, be true to yourself, all esle will follow.

  4. 😦 I hate HSBC… I’ve queued 10 times, filled in 3 forms and they still don’t recognise you.

  5. It’s almost been 3 months since I moved in my new house. Most rooms still have minging carpets and wallpaper, I still have no table, there is a large hole in the dining room wall where the boiler was, my kitchen units are barely standing, everything leaks, our electrics are 50 years old and in serious need for rewiring… I don’t have the dough to do it all now either, even though all we need to buy are building materials, since we are doing everything ourselves.

  6. Er…if it helps you to feel better, I have a set of kiddy plastic chairs to decorate your home, quite decent ones too 🙂

    BTW, to make you feel better, my apartment is cracking up in places and I fear that one day, it’ll collapse.

    p/s so do you want the chairs? *winks*

  7. home not where the heart is meh? 😛

    slowly lah dude! i daren’t even think of the day when i need to buy all these on my own.

    oh waitaminit. that’s what husbands are for innit?

    kidding!

  8. i feel for you dude! i’m getting a very frustrated myself and full of worry! have you ever had a look at how much a rumah setinggan cost in London??!! YES!! I WORRY!!!

    when we move (if ever… stupid vendor solicitors!), we’re going to get a sofabed, a fridge, a freezer and a 50″ plasma tv! have to prioritise what…

  9. time to call up FAMA loans :p

  10. jeevs,

    Measly increment upon promotion. 😦

    I know that patience is required. But, sometimes, when you have been waiting so long for something, you just want it to be perfect.

    Muks,

    Don’t fret about it. I know you tried. 🙂

    Sigh. Hang in there sis. (Rob Schneider says, “You can do it!”)

    blusher,

    Thanks for the offer. Kiddie plastic chairs? What do they look like? 🙂

    doreen,

    I’ll try. Where can I find a husband? Are you hoarding any? Heheh.

    yati,

    50″ plasma! LOL. I love the way your brain prioritises.

    C. Lengus has this same mentality. He is enlarging his bathroom and fitting in a jacuzzi and all those fancy-smancy bathroom thingies. His living room will be bereft of stuff and as bare as the inside of Britney Spear’s head.

    tommi,

    FAMA (father-mother) scholarship is already exhausted. 😦

  11. I feel for you. Renting is definitely cheaper. I used to have savings before I bought my place. And i still don’t have any sofas. Sigh.

  12. sell backside la… (takes a quickie look at anttyk’s back…)

    bad idea… *kidding*

    seriously, its OK to slowly furnish the house… room by room. that’s what i plan to do anyway…

    share with you. i’ll probably go japanese and just buy floor mats for guests to sit. yup, not even chairs! 😉

  13. adriantai,

    That’s a good idea. Floor mats. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

